1919 Men's Amateur Final H.M. Stratton and Monroe Hunter before the final of the 1919 Men's Amateur
Stanley Thompson
Stanley Thompson Painting A painting of Stanley Thompson. Artist unknown.

These individuals helped make the game of golf available and sustainable in the province. Their impact can still be felt today as you play their courses and feel the continued influence of their work. 


William (Bill) "Pop" Brinkworth, Edmonton CC & Glendale GCC

Superintendent, Course Designer and Builder

Dr. Bill Broadfoot, Royal Mayfair GCC

Alberta Golf Secretary-Treasurer (1935-1945), first golf course turf consultant

Tom Scott

Presided over the prestigious Eaton's Rose Bowl matches starting in 1937, Alberta Golf Secretary-Treasurer (1948-1951)

Stanley Thompson

Designed some of Alberta's top courses including Banff Springs GC, Edmonton CC, Jasper Park GC, Lethbridge CC, Royal Mayfair GCC, and Waterton Park GC

Alberta Golf Pioneers

This section is dedicated to the original pioneers of Alberta Golf. The ones who helped pave the way for the game of golf in this province.


Distinguished Service

These players include some of the original winners of the Alberta Junior, Men's and Women's Amateur events. They laid the foundation for the likes of Henry Martell and Betty Cole. 


Janet Sparrow , Calgary GCC

  • 1913 Ladies Amateur Champion 

Irene Horne, Calgary GCC & Edmonton CC

  • 1929,1930, 1932-34, 1937 Ladies Amateur Champion
  • 1935 Canadian Women's Amateur Champion

Mrs J. Train Gray, Calgary GCC

  • 1935-1936 Ladies Amateur Champion

Patricia "Paddy" Arnold, Calgary GCC

  • 1938-39, 1946-49 Ladies Amateur Champion
  • 6 time provincial team member

Charles Hague, Calgary GCC

  • 1908,1910,1912 Men's Amateur Champion 
  • 1921 Canadian Men's Amateur Runner-Up

J. Munro Hunter, Edmonton CC

  • 1913,1914,1919,1920 Men's Amateur Champion

Carson MacWilliams, Earl Grey GC

  • 1923,1925,1926 Men's Amateur Champion

Stu Vickers, Elks GC of Calgary

  • 1932,1933,1935 Men's Amateur Champion 
  • 1933-36, 1951 Willingdon Cup Teams

Jim Hogan, Jasper Park GC

1938 inaugural Junior Champion

Fred Wells, Earl Grey GC

  • 1946, 1947,1949 Senior Men's Champion

Website Created & Hosted with Doteasy Web Hosting Canada